Anxiety Gives Me Something to Write About

Racing thoughts never slow me down

Even in my sleep, I actively dream

Kicking, swinging, screaming to escape

At times I even wake up wet

Not even trying to imagine how

 

One hour, Two hours

Three hours, now five

Eyes getting low, it’s 3am

But I wanna do push-ups

So, instead I pulled out my notebook

 

Writing helps me see inside my mind

After I scratch this out

Add that, and

Move words around

I just created a new page

 

Impulsive, Narcissistic, Co-dependent

Grouchy, Annoyed, yet

Unbothered.

If I had all the answers

I’d be a doctor

 

Anxiety gives me something to write about

While waiting for the sun to rise

I slip into unconsciousness

Awake before reaching the third stage of sleep

Tired as ever, and it’s only Monday morning

Leave a Reply

